2019 History Department Honors and Awards Ceremony

On Saturday, May 4, the History Department held its annual Honors and Awards Luncheon, in recognition of the academic excellence and civic achievement of our undergraduate students this past year. A number of students were also formally inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, the national honors society for history. Thank you to all the supportive family and friends who attended, particularly those who traveled some distance to be with us!

Professor Jovana Babović inducts new members to the Phi Alpha Theta Honors Society.

Paper prizes were the first to be awarded in six different categories: Best Paper by a First Year Student, Best Analytical Paper, the Val Rabe Prize for Upper-Level Research Paper; the Bill Derby Award for Best HIST 302 Paper; the Jennifer Wachunas Prize in Women’s History; and the Derek Kaczorowski Memorial Best Senior Experience Paper Prize.

This is the first year that the Senior Experience Paper Prize has been awarded in memory of Derek Kaczorowski ’18, who passed away last year shortly after winning this prize and graduating from SUNY Geneseo.

The departmental endowed awards were then announced.

A final recognition went to Sue Ann Brainard, who is retiring this year from Milne Library after many years of stalwart service as History subject librarian. Professor Michael Oberg made a presentation to her from a grateful History Department.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top